Louisiana CDL Requirements
- Written Test
- Driving Test
- Driver's License
Those who hope to apply for a CDL in Louisiana will first need to take three physical examinations. They and their doctors will fill out three different forms, and they are the CDL Physical Examination Form, the Medical Examination Form and the Vision Examination Form.
After they have passed their physical examinations, they can apply for their commercial driver licenses (CDLs). This will require that they fill out the application for the CDL and the one-page supplemental form, and they can complete these forms before they show up at the Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV).
Required Documentation for Applying for the CDL
Upon their arrival at the OMV, applicants for the CDL will need to present the following documents along with their applications:
- Their driver licenses
- Their Social Security cards
- Their current automobiles’ proof of insurance
- The application fee of $15
In the event that applicants need to have endorsements added to their CDLs, they will be required to pay a $5 fee for each one. In Louisiana, the motorcycle endorsement fee will be $8.
Taking the Written Knowledge Test
After applicants have submitted all of their required documentation, they will be able to take the written test. If they pass this test, they will receive their learner’s permits. They will need their learner’s permits so that they can practice operating the commercial vehicle they will use when they take the road test. These tests will require drivers to show both skill and knowledge in safety hazards, inspections, trailer detachment, and basic driving skills. View the free Louisiana CDL Manual to study for your written exam.
When It Is Time to Take the Road Skills Test
When the applicants feel that they are ready to take the road skills test, they can call their local OMV to make an appointment. Once they pass this test, they will pay the $41 fee and receive their CDLs. The fee will be $51 in Orleans Parish.
The Time Restriction
Applicants will have a time restriction once they submit their applications. They must have earned their CDLs within six months of the date they first applied. Those who do not will need to pay the fees and take the tests again if they wish to continue with the process of obtaining their CDLs.
Once applicants receive their CDLs, they will not be able to keep their previously issued licenses. Violating this rule may mean a $5,000 fine or a jail sentence.
Louisiana re-licensing information is important to fully understand, as retesting may be necessary. Those who let their license expire for over 10 days will be subject to a $15 fine. Renewal may not be done online.
View a listing of Truck Driving Schools in Louisiana to find a training facility near you.