Maryland CDL Requirements
- Written Test
- Driving Test
- Driver's License
- Social Security Card
In order to apply for a commercial driver license (CDL), Maryland residents will need to go to the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) at the Department of Transportation (DOT). Maryland residents welcome to apply for the CDL are at least 18 years of age.
Obtaining the CDL Learner’s Permit
Applying for a CDL will mean that applicants will first need to obtain a learner’s permit. Applicants under the age of 21 will only be able to obtain a learner’s permit to drive a commercial vehicle within the state of Maryland. Applicants age 21 and older may apply to drive commercial vehicles from state to state. When they are ready to begin the application process, drivers will need to make sure that they take the documentation listed below when they present themselves at the MVA.
Documentation Needed to Apply for the CDL
Upon arrival at the MVA, applicants will need to present documentation that proves their age, their identity and their residence in the state of Maryland. A birth certificate, an unexpired passport or an unexpired legal resident card can be used to prove age and identity. To prove Maryland residency, applicants must bring two documents. These documents may be a utility bill, property tax bill, a major credit card bill and Selective Service card.
In order to apply for a CDL in Maryland, applicants need to already have their Maryland driver licenses. They will need to bring this with them on the day they put in their applications. They may be asked for proof of their Social Security numbers. They would have needed to pass the physical examination required for the CDL in Maryland, and they will need to present their Medical Examination Reports for DOT as proof of this.
The Written Test and the Road Skills Test
At this time, applicants will take a written test where they will be able to demonstrate their knowledge of Maryland’s driving laws. They will also need to pass an eye test. After applicants have completed all of the requirements above, they can schedule an appointment with their local MVAs for the road skills test. This test will be comprised of a 45-minute inspection and the Skills Maneuver Test that will last 10 minutes for each maneuver tested. The test may take over 4 hours, and includes the written test and the actual driving test. The driving test provides a 45-minute truck inspection, 10-minute basic skills test, and a 40 minute driving test. The written test covers detailed information and policies found in the Maryland CDL Manual.
Maryland re-licensing information includes the need to renew your license. Those who fail to renew their license within the grace period (generally 1 year) will need to retake any and all tests. Individuals who wish to keep their Hazmat certification must do so once every five years.
View Truck Driving Schools in Maine to find a training center near you.