Minnesota CDL Requirements
- Written Test
- Driving Test
- Driver's License
- Social Security Card
In the state of Minnesota, a commercial driver license (CDL) is required to operate a number of specialty vehicles. In order to ensure the safety of the drivers and those around them, various requirements have been put in place including basic and skills tests, training, and more. The following is an overview of Minnesota's CDL requirements.
A CDL license is required to drive any vehicle weighing more than 26,000 pounds, vehicles designed to carry more than 15 people, or those containing hazardous materials. Currently, Federal regulations mean that there are three classes of CDL (A-C). Additionally, there are several different “endorsements” covering various specific types of vehicles including school busses, tankers, and others.
Minnesota's CDL require drivers be at least 16 years old, while interstate drivers must be at least 21. Separate age requirements are in place for school bus drivers and hazardous vehicle drivers. CDL permit and endorsement fees sometimes vary by age, so be sure to check with the DMV for an updated schedule.
The CDL examination consists of multiple tests beginning with knowledge tests. The number of knowledge tests you must pass is dependent on the Class of CDL and type of endorsement that you are seeking. The Minnesota CDL Manual is the basis for the information on the written test.
Only once you have passed the required knowledge tests may you take the CDL skills test. This test includes a pre-trip inspection, basic control skills, and a road test. Separate skill tests must be taken for each type of vehicle you intend to operate.
Although there are not minimum training requirements for a CDL, in order to pass the driving test part of the CDL examination, a significant amount of practice drive time is usually required. Often, employers will require drivers meet standards prepared by the Professional Truck Driver Institute (PTDI).
Minnesota CDL holders are required to have a valid medical examination certificate and accompanying waivers. This certificate must be renewed every 2 years. Interstate and intrastate waivers are available for some medical conditions.
There are multiple disqualifying offenses associated with all CDLs and hazardous materials CDLs in particular. Felony convictions and drug/alcohol related crimes are the primary factors involved in disqualifying offenses.
Minnesota requires that application and testing take place at a certified location. Two forms of identification are required at the time of application.
If you are looking to attend a professional truck driving school, view a list of Truck Driving Schools in Minnesota that can provide you with training.