Colorado Trucking Jobs
There are many trucking jobs in Colorado for you to consider. If you wish to drive across beautiful snow covered mountains, many cities throughout the state offer you opportunities to look into if you have a CDL.
Salary and Career Outlook
In total, there are slightly over 21,000 drivers employed in heavy hauling jobs in the state. These drivers average roughly $41,000 per year in earnings according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
There are many industries in Colorado hiring truckers. You will be able to look into agriculture, recreation, merchandise, manufacturing, petrol and oil and many others. Each industry has something unique to offer, which is why it’s critical for you to research each one.
Career outlook for trucking jobs is promising. You will find that there are more opportunities with each passing year. The Bureau of Labor Statistics says there will be 21 percent growth in the field from 2010 to 2020. This leads to a higher job stability rate for you – as long as you continue to drive safely along the roads.
Benefits of a Trucking Career
Competitive wages are out there for quality truckers. When you have years of experience and have dealt with many different road conditions, you can command a higher wage, allowing you to earn well more than the average that the Bureau of Labor Statistics claims.
You will also be able to choose a schedule that works well for you. Some companies will give you routes where you can be off on the weekends and holidays.
Important Laws and Regulations
In Denver, there are anti-idling laws of 10 minutes per hour. This is often highly enforced, so you need to make sure not to set your truck to idle longer than that amount.
It’s not uncommon to deal with snow on the roads during the winter months. There are “must carry” laws in effect on I-70 between the exits of 162 and 259. You will be fined if you don’t have your snow chains on your truck in this area and any other area that has a posting requiring it.
You will need a CDL in Colorado, and this means being able to pass the written and driving portions of the test. You will also need to pass a vision test and bring a medical certificate with you. To drive in the state, you can be 18 but to drive outside the state, you must be at least 21.
If you drive in Colorado between September 1 and May 1, you must carry sufficient chains and you must chain up when necessary to comply with the law. When the chain law is in effect; that is, when you're driving on snowy and icy roads, you can be fined $500 for not having chains on your tires and an additional $500 if your truck blocks traffic due to poor traction.
Need CDL Training? View a list of truck driving schools in Colorado to get started.