Connecticut Trucking Jobs
You have your choice of trucking jobs in Connecticut. With so many industries and employers to choose from, it’s important to know what’s out there and how it will affect your lifestyle and your earning potential.
Salary and Career Outlook
According to the bureau of Labor Statistics, Connecticut has a lower proportion of the population that are professional drivers, but those drivers earn more on average than other states. There are roughly 11,500 drivers in the state earning almost $42,000 per year. Data from BLS.gov.
Many industries are available to choose from in Connecticut. You will find general trucking, government, agricultural, petrol and oil and other jobs out there. This means you have many opportunities and must explore each one to see which best suits you and your personal nature.
The career outlook is high for trucking jobs. You will be able to find many opportunities and these opportunities are only going to increase. Within the next decade, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, there will be about 21 percent more jobs throughout the country.
Benefits of a Trucking Career
One of the top benefits to a trucking career is the high wages that go along with being a high quality driver. When you have no points on your license and have worked in many driving conditions, you can earn a higher wage.
Important Laws and Regulations
There are anti-idling laws of three minutes in Connecticut. The state also has some of the highest fines in the nation for breaking the law – as much as $25,000. Be careful with the factory settings on your truck because they may be set for idling times of five or ten minutes, which can lead you to break the law. Plus, your employer may require you to pay the fines – which are almost half of your annual salary.
You are required to wear a seat belt at all times within the state of Connecticut. This includes the lap belt as well as the one across the chest. Failure to do so can result in a fine. There are also many instances where you can lose your license in Connecticut. Failure to appear for a license re-examination and reckless driving are among the ways you can lose your CDL.
When you obtain your CDL in Connecticut, you must be at least 18 to drive within the state and 21 to drive outside of it. Also, you will need to maintain DOT compliancy, which states you cannot be on the road for more than 11 hours at a time.
If you need CDL training there are a variety of truck driving schools in Connecticut ready to train you.