Oregon Trucking Jobs
You will be able to find many trucking jobs in Oregon. Consider some of the top industries including wine and beverage manufacturing, agriculture, forestry and more. Opportunities exist throughout Portland as well as some of the smaller cities in the state.
Salary and Career Outlook
The earnings for trucking jobs in Oregon can vary based upon many factors, including experience and the industry you work in. The average salary is $39,210 Bureau of Labor Statistics. There are over 20,000 professional drivers working in heavy haul jobs in the state. This includes Class A and Class B drivers.
The career outlook for truckers in general is very high. This is due to more and more trucking positions becoming available. The Bureau of Labor Statistics estimates growth in the range of 21 percent, showing just how many positions will be available within the next 10 years.
There are many opportunities throughout the industry, so it’s a good idea to compare and contrast. Explore what’s out there in Oregon before you commit to one employer over another. It’s also a good idea to find out what the requirements of the position are before you obtain your License.
Benefits of a Trucking Career
With trucking jobs in Oregon, you can also enjoy a very short training period. Once you obtain your CDL, you will be able to find a number of jobs that will hire you without any additional training. This makes it easy to begin your career without dedicating years of your life at a college or university.
Important Laws and Regulations
When you are looking at snow tires for the winter in Oregon, you are allowed to have chains in the winter when conditions permit. If both of your truck axles are powered, you will need one tire on each driver axle to be chained. Additionally, you can have studded tires during the period of November 1 through April 1.
Oregon is subject to DOT regulations, which means that you have to track how long you stay on the road. You may not drive more than 11 hours in a row behind the wheel and you may not drive more than 60 hours in a 7-day period. There is also a sleeper berth clause that will allow you to sleep in your truck for 8 hours before getting back on the road.
It’s important to follow all laws and regulations on the road in Oregon. For every traffic law that you violate, you can be given points. Points can lead to your CDL being suspended.
It is illegal to operate a handheld communication device while driving in the state of Oregon. This includes both making and receiving calls, as well as text messaging. Violating this law multiple times can result in disqualification from operating commercial vehicles in the state. Drivers over the age of 18 may use hands-free devices to make and receive phone calls, but should be aware of the possible distraction hazard.
View our list of Trucking Schools in Oregon to find a CDL training facility near you.