North Dakota CDL Requirements

In State Driving Age:
Driving Between States Age:
Hazardous Age:
Exams Required:
  • Vision
  • Written Test
  • Driving Test
IDs Required:
  • State ID
  • Social Security Card

To get a driving job in ND, you need to first obtain your commercial driver's license (CDL). Some of the North Dakota CDL requirements mimic those of other states, thanks to national mandates. Other pieces of North Dakota licensing information may be new to you, and must be understood before applying for a commercial driver’s license.

North Dakota residents will need to apply for a Class A commercial driver license (CDL) with the North Dakota Department of Transportation (NDDOT). They will not be able to receive a CDL without restrictions until they have reached the age of 21. Before they apply, they will also need to meet the several requirements listed below:

  • They can read, write and speak the English language fluently
  • They do not have a driver license from another state
  • They will give up their current driver licenses
  • Their current driver licenses have not been suspended or revoked
  • There are no DUIs or other infractions on their driving records
  • They have a social security number
  • They can prove their identities
  • They have passed the physical examination

Documents that Prove Identity

Applicants must present the originals when submitting documents that prove their identities. These documents can be one of the following:

  • Their United States birth certificates
  • Their United States passports
  • A foreign passport that contains either the I-94 card or the I-551 stamp
  • A consular report of birth issued by the United States government
  • An identification card issued by the U.S. military
  • A court order from a United States court showing the applicant’s name and birthdate

Obtaining a Learner’s Permit

In order to be able to train on the commercial vehicle that they will eventually be driving, applicants need to obtain a learner’s permit. Once they determine that they are eligible for this process, they can take their vision tests when they arrive at the testing office. Then, they will need to take a general knowledge test for their particular commercial vehicles. Being able to drive a commercial vehicle with air brakes, for example, will require that applicants take extra knowledge tests. View the North Dakota CDL Manual to study for your written test.

In North Dakota, applicants do not have to make an appointment to begin the testing process, but they will need to arrive at the testing office one hour before 12 o’clock p.m. or one hour before the office closes. This will ensure that they have enough time to complete the tests.

The Fees for the CDL Testing Process

Applicants will need to pay a $5 fee before they can take the knowledge tests. They will also need to present a document that proves their identities. Those who pass their knowledge tests will be presented with a learner’s permit after they pay the $15 fee. They will have six months to practice driving their vehicles. Then, they will be able to make an appointment for their skills tests.

Taking the Skills Test

When it is time for applicants to take their skills tests, they must have their learner’s permits, a commercial vehicle that can pass the inspection and the $5 fee. Those who fail the test can schedule another appointment to take it again. Those who pass will pay their $15 fees for their CDLs and $3 for each endorsement. These licenses will be valid for four years.

North Dakota re-licensing information shows that renewal is good for four years. Those who allow their license to expire for over one year will be subject to retesting for the written test and the driving skills test.

View Truck Driving Schools in North Dakota that will train you for your CDL License. 

Search for a Trucking Job

Select a state: