Wyoming CDL Requirements
- Written Test
- Driving Test
- Driver's License
- Social Security Card
Applicants for the Class A commercial driver license (CDL) must be at least 18 years of age. Until they reach the age of 21, they will only be able to drive a commercial vehicle in the state of Wyoming, and they will not be able to transport hazardous materials. Other than the age requirements, applicants will also need to meet the citizenship requirements. This means that they will need to be U.S. citizens, naturalized citizens or legal residents.
What Disqualifies Wyoming Residents from Commercial Driving?
Applicants may fit the above requirements, but they can still be disqualified if they have been convicted at least twice of a major moving violation within a period of three years. Some of the qualifying traffic violations include speeding 15 miles per hour or more over the speed limit, reckless driving or driving too closely behind the vehicle in front.
Those who obtain a DUI or refuse to submit to the chemical test will not be able to obtain a CDL in Wyoming. If they caused an accident and left the scene or allowed their vehicles to be used in the commission of a felony, they will not qualify for a CDL.
What Documents Are Needed?
Once applicants determine that they may apply for a CDL, they can begin the application process. They will need to take the following documents when they apply:
- Their current driver licenses issued by the state of Wyoming
- Proof of their social security number
- Proof of their citizenship status
- Their Department of Transportation (DOT) medical examination reports
The documents that applicants can present to prove their citizenship are a birth certificate that has been certified, a current passport, a consular report, a citizenship certificate and a naturalization certificate. Applicants will also need to pass two background checks, including the National Driver Record check and the Commercial Driver License Information System check.
Taking the Multiple Choice Knowledge Tests
After all of the appropriate documents are presented, applicants will take a general knowledge test. This test will be multiple choice, and applicants will need to receive a grade of 80 percent or better to pass. At this time, applicants will also have the option of taking knowledge exams that will add endorsements to their licenses. These endorsements will allow them to drive a vehicle with hazardous materials or to drive a commercial vehicle with air brakes. The wirtten test covers knowledge in the Wyoming CDL Manual.
Those who pass their written tests will receive their permits to drive the commercial vehicle of their choice. The fee for a permit is $20, and applicants are allowed to renew it once within a two year period.
Scheduling the Driving Skills Test
Applicants will not be required to wait any particular amount of time to schedule their driving skills tests. They can make an appointment at their nearest exam offices for a $40 fee where they will be tested on their abilities to inspect the vehicle, control the vehicle and drive it lawfully along the public roads. Applicants who pass the driving test will receive a four-year CDL for a $25 fee.
Wyoming re-licensing information states that individuals must renew their license every four years. Individuals who allow their license to expire may be subject to retesting.
View Truck Driving Schools in Wyoming to find a CDL Training facility near you.